Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer claims that the dwindling numbers of the deer population is due the inimical effects of global warming. While it may be true that loss of sea ice is a plausible reason contributing to the decline of their numbers, the writer fails to consider other factors and variables that may have led to this.

First and foremost, the claim that the mere coincidence of the fall in the Arctic deer is attributed to the increased effects global warming seems lacking. It suggests a relation that seems forcibly put together at best. The underline assumption that the lack of ice has changed or broken their migration patterns fails to take into account many other variables that may have affected them. For instance, the writer mentions that the Arctic deer relies on habitats that are highly sensitive. This leads us to question whether variables like the lack of food or changing temperatures may have altered the environmental conditions of their habitats, thereby rendering them unfit for them.

Additionally, the writer mentions disrupted migration patterns which have made migration difficult. However, there is little relevant evidence of such behavioral changes stated in the passage. The vague reports by the local hunters are not enough to substantiate such a claim. Moreover, migration patterns can change. So even if the "age-old" paths are rendered broken, new alternates are devised by such animals.

The writer cites the report of the local hunters. It is not clear, however, how representative this sample pool for the community. It can be entirely possible that the decline in deer population only occurred in certain parts of the islands and is not a ubiquitous claim. The need to verify this observation through other sources is vital. Also, questions such as how the hunters noticed a decrease in their game can also strengthen the argument. How long have their numbers been dropping? Does the pattern suggest seasonal variation? Thus, detailed observational studies can help paint a convincing argument.

Changing migration paths indeed is a valid reason that can affect the distribution and prevalence of a species. And while they can be the sole cause of such an effect, the possibility of other variables cannot be ruled out without a detailed assessment. Thus, further detailed study and surveys can help the writer make a convincing claim.