The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to waether and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer attempts to evaluation and rectify the problem of reduced views and advert contracts by proposing to return to the old format of a news station. However, due to the lack of evidence and vague claims, the argument fails to convince.

First and foremost, there is obvious doubt surrounding the premise that the television station received complaints from the viewers about its coverage of weather and local news. The writer does not state exactly what the complaints were about. Details on possible aspects that the viewers did not seem to like may range from reduced time, changed formats or the subject of discussions. Therefore, it seems naïve to assume that reverting back to the former time slots may prevent further criticism.

The writer also uses the increased termination of advertising contracts from local businesses as evidence of the failing new broadcasting format. However, this causal argument fails to discuss any other possible variables that might have led to ending their contract. Did they find better advertising opportunities at another television station? Was it the decreased screen time for weather and local news that proved unprofitable or were there other issues?

Lastly, the writer advocates that reverting back to the old format may attract 'more views'. This argument seems baseless. We are not given any premise about why the old format would garner more views, let alone cut the rate of contract cancellation by local businesses. To corroborate such a claim, a survey of both their viewers and their advertising businesses might prove helpful.

In conclusion, the lack of evidence and reasoning weakens the writer's argument. Details such as surveys and thorough analysis of other possible variables may help strengthen the claim.