“Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the speaker claims that according to the report of local hunters the population of Arctic deer lives on islands in Canada’s arctic region is declining. To justify the claim also stated that the recent trend of global warming that caused ice melting. However, before this evidence properly evaluated, three possibilities must be analyzed.

First of all, local hunters of the area reported that the arctic deer population is declining. But there are possibilities that hunters only assume the numbers, not measures with scientific methods. Or maybe from where they search for deer that wasn’t their area to roam around. If either of this evidence is true, the original argument going to be weakened.

Secondly, as stated, the local hunters report and calculation was true and the deer population is declining, there is a huge chance that the majority of the arctic deer is shifted a different area for food hunt. If the piece evidence is true, the argument is weakened.

Thirdly, the argument stated that the recent global warming tends which is the cause of the declination of the deer. But it is possible that what is happening other side of the world may not have an effect on the arctic islands or on the deer population of the area. Perhaps the climate changes affect less in that certain area. And deer live in their normal ways of life. Even if the ice is melted due to the climatic change, but it was really in small amount which didn’t hamper the deer to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. If the above evidence is true the argument can’t hold the water.

At the end, where the argument stand is weak. If asserted above evidence have merit and more evidence is provides with proper analysis then it will be possible to evaluate the stated argument.