The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing stated that to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at quiot and increase the productivity authority should cut the three shifts work hour by one hour so that workers can grain strength for work. However, before this recommendation can fully evaluate the following three assumptions must analyze.

First of all, the author assumes that past year cited 30 percent increased on-the-job- accidents on quiot was analyze scientifically. Perhaps it was an approximated comparison with the nearly penoply industries plant and also there is no evidence on current year result s of the comparison between the two companies. However, if the above scenarios true then the argument is significantly unwarranted.

Secondly, mentioned experts assume that the health issues were the cause of on-the-job accidents. Maybe the fatigues or sleep-deprivation were not the cause of the accidents. Perhaps there was some technical fault on the machines, which lead the accidents. It is also possible that workers are not fully trained to work in the company. And in the end, they face accidents. In addition to maybe the environment in which the workers' work is not suitable for them, and they lose concentration which causes accidents. If the above assumptions are true ten the original argument does not hold water.

Finally, the experts assume that reduction in a working hour can increase productivity with a decrease in on-the-job accidents. It is possible that reduction in a working hour did not come with a profit. On the contrary, workers are doing their jobs more hastily due to the shortage of time to finish the work, which may increase the accidents. In the end, the company can face bankruptcy. However, if the above assumptions are true then the argument significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is fully flawed due to its reliance on some unwarranted assumptions. If the author can show evidence of the following assumptions with the more systemically studied assumption, then the above recommendations about the reduction in the working shifts hour in quoit manufacturing can fully evaluate.