argument 1

While it may seem reasonable, at the first glance, that the "Palean" baskets did not belong to only one particular village, the writer of this argument relies on what might be less reliable or even unsubstantiated premises so as to support his or her claim that I am going to elaborate them upon hereunder.

The first interpretation as to why I believe that the author's argument is not convincing lies in the fact that the writer rests on an hidden assumption that the Brime River never dry up, or not being frozen in any time, and the level of water was same all the time. Therefore, if geographical materials indicate the river was dried up or frozen in a specific time, the argument will be weaken. For instance, it is possible that owning to cold winter in a particular year, the river had been frozen, which gave ancient Palean a chance to walk over ice to reach Lithos.

Secondly, the argument concludes on an unproven correlation that given the depth and water level of the Brime River and the fact that no Palean boat was found in Lithos, Palean baskets had not been made only by ancient Palean. The writer fails to consider the fact that it is possible that residents of Lithos utilized their boats in order to cross the river to reach the Palea, which gave them an opportunity to purchase Palean baskets. Hence, the conclusion would be lack any merit.

However, even if the writer assuming that there was not any way for Palean to reach their baskets to Lithos, thanks to the Brime River condition, the writer fails to consider the fact that it is possible that the Palea and the Brime river came to exist in different time--or, to put it in another way, the author assumes that both the palea and the Brime river came to exist at the same time. There is no document demonstrating the exact date of creating the Brime River as well as the palea; accordingly, we do not know whether the river existed when the Palea came to exist. Unless the river existed before the Palea, Palean could travel to Lithos, and those Palean baskets discovered by archeologist might be brought by Palean before creating the Brime river.

All in all, having considered all the aforementioned ingredients discussed above, the writer's argument cannot be taken into account to be correct on the grounds that it claims on the number of assumptions each of which is dubious. The conclusion will not be cogent other than by removing all the weakness mentioned above.