The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

In the university we live, everything is subject to alteration. Mankind, from the beginning of the genesis until now, has also experienced considerable development. With this in mind, there are opposing views about the importance of the extended family in the past in comparison to that of in the present time. While some believe that nowadays, people pay less attention to the extended family, others hold the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the first attitude carries more weight for more than a few reasons, three of the most substantial of which are discussed below.

The most compelling reason is that in today's modern world, that everybody has to be in rush so as to not to be left behind in contending for the "field of competition", is nucleus of any successful society, and they are more focusing on their goals, and what they want to achieve; as a result, they work more and more; hence, and enjoying less leisure time to spend with their families, especially their extended families, which has led to the fact that the extended family has lost its meaning today.

Another interpretation as to why I do not concur with the latter attitude in the introductory paragraph, lies in the fact that our lifestyle, as it is commonly perceived, has been affected by the galloping rate of technological advancement offering a more convenient life. Every day, new facilities and technologies are offered, which can be tempting for anyone. These facilities have truly expanded individuals' communication in the way that one can make a friend in the distant countries. Therefore, individuals' relationship is not constrained to their extended families which in turn plays an inevitable role in diminishing the value of the extended family.

Last but not the least reason is that today's modern generation is different from those in the past in many aspects. It seems to me that the major difference among ours and our parents is that we do not care about our traditions and rituals as much as our ancestors did, who thought that clinging to rituals and traditions is one of the vital characteristics of a person. According to a research conducted in of the reputable universities in my country, today's modern generation strives to eliminate everything, which is so-called "obstacle", thinking that it hinders the way for enjoying a convenient life although traditions and rituals may be beneficial for the society.

In summary, having considered all the aforementioned ingredients discussed above, I firmly endorse my point of view that today, the extended family is not as significant as that was in the past due to people's hectic lifestyle, technology advancement, and having less commitment to traditions.