Argument Topic: According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in t

The above-stated argument is flawed for numerous reasons like by adopting a certain code student would agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors.

This argument fails to provide any justification for how the college is measuring the trustworthiness of students who agreed not to cheat in the future. There may be numerous students who might not be reporting any cheating case of any student to faculty members. There are no specific details provided for Honor code system, adopted by Groveton College, how it would be measuring cheating habit of students, on what basis it would have been built up, what inputs it require. It is not clearly stated anywhere, how many students are there in the class and they have been observed by how many faculties. It might be the possibility that only teacher is monitoring a large number of students and his or her work of monitoring students is not 100 percent correct.

This arguments also leaves many other unanswered questions, what is the total strength of the class and there is no statistical data provided for reporting thirty cases of cheating. Drop-in reporting the average cheating cases might be because of variation between the count of students, five years later. This would have been more clarified if the actual count of students given. Also, from the stated argument we can’t be assured if all students are considering this method honestly, if that’s the case then honor code method totally falls apart, in identifying the cheating cases.

Finally, the argument has stated about a survey in which a majority of students have agreed that the honor code method helps students to cheat less, there is no statistical data provided for this survey. Who all are the constituents of this survey, how many students have been asked and who has approved the survey in order to be sure that the survey conducted is correct. It is possible that this survey is considering only those students who are taking the honor code method honestly and the majority of students may not be included in it.

Conclusively, it can be stated that the above argument is open to so many questions and denounced due to lack of evidence and report. Based on the provided information, It can’t be concluded that adapting the honor code method will decrease cheating among students like Groveton’s college.