Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Please help me improve this essay and if possible give me an idea of what score you would give it and why. Any and all help is very much appreciated so thank you in advance!

In recent years many cinema companies have seen a sharp decline in profits and patrons. With ticket prices still going up even though new competitors such as youtube and on-demand movies have appeared, there seems to be less and less reason to go to a physical theater. The argument presented by the advertising director ignores many possible reasons for declining attendees and assumes that the cause is poor advertising while there is not sufficient information to support this claim.

In order to evaluate this argument, it is crucial that the numerical facts presented are clear and accurately represented. The report states that "fewer people" attended the movies without explaining what qualifies as fewer. Was there a significant decrease? If 1,000 people attend the movies annually and only 950 attended this year that is surely less daunting that if 200 people attended last year and only 50 attended this year. Similarly, the increase in percentage of positive reviews needs to be explicitly stated. If the increase was from 10% positive reviews to 15% positive reviews, then it is improbable that it would have made a difference in attracting viewers.

Furthermore, the advertising director is assuming that people didn’t know about the positive movie reviews, but this many not have been the case. It's plausible that potential clients saw the movie reviews, but remained uninterested.

Additionally, he/she is assuming that movie reviews are the most influential factor in deciding what movie to watch. Perhaps viewers choose movies based primarily on the quality of their commercials or word of mouth recommendations from friends. The advertising director needs to answer the questions of movie review visibility and influence.

Lastly, so there are several other reasons that people may not be seeing movies this year; there may not actually be a lack of public awareness that there are good movies. The advertising director needs to uncover the true underlying reason that people are not watching films in their theater. With the advent of streaming services such as netflix and hulu, maybe people just aren't going to the movies anymore. It's possible movie ticket prices have gone up or the economy is in a recession and people are no longer willing to spend money to go to the movies.

There are too many unsupported claims and alternative explanations in the presented argument for it to be reasonable. The numbers used for justification are not clear, the claim that people don't know about positive movie reviews is based on no evidence, and the advertising director ignores the fact that things change from year to year and there could be outside factors deterring people from seeing movies at the current time. Unless that the questions addressed in this essay are answered in a way that corroborates the director's claims, there is not sufficient evidence that the recommendation will succeed in solving the problem of decreased viewers.