The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

Please help me improve this essay and if possible give me an idea of what score you would give it and why. Any and all help is very much appreciated so thank you in advance!

It's not uncommon for business magazines to write in such a manner that certain company comes off looking better than is truly merited. Moreover, it is not common practice for business magazines to publish in-depth details or analyses of chemical tests. Therefore, this excerpt presented has been found lacking in sufficient evidence to conclude that Promofoods is completely innocent of having produced tuna that leads to nausea of dizziness when consumed. Several questions need to be answered in order to evaluate the conclusion that Promofoods tuna is not to be blamed for feelings of nausea and dizziness.

Initially, the veracity and reliability of the complaints needs to be assessed. When Promofoods says it received numerous complains, how many complaints justify the label numerous? Is 100 complaints considered sufficient if 1,000,000 cans were distributed? Secondly, the question of who issued these complaints needs to be answered. If the majority of complaints come from a select few households or the number of complains was deemed numerous while the ratio of complaints to cans sold is very small then it is improbable that chemists will find significant results of contaminated tuna. These two possible scenarios would corroborate that the conclusion, the cans were not found responsible for the nausea and dizziness, is true because they indicate that only a small percentage of clients felt any negative symptoms resulting from the tuna.

Should the complaints be found truthful and of significant quantity, it is next necessary to question the chemists and their work. The magazine states that the chemists responsible for testing were members of the Promofoods company. It is difficult to be certain that the work was executed neutrally when the chemists are employees of a company in potential danger of scrutiny should they find unfavorable results. For this very reason, their results should be confirmed by an independent. Additionally, more information is required surrounding the complaints. Did all the affected customers consume tuna manufactured and packaged in the same batch? If so, it is possible that the machinery was due for cleaning and some residue or dirt ended up in their food. It is probable that the ingredients were mixed in the wrong proportions in this one particular batch. If the chemists work is confirmed by a third party and no batch-based irregularity found, then this further supports their conclusion that there was nothing wrong with the tuna.

Lastly if there are no other impediments to assuming that the complaints are valid and the chemical testing is accurate, in examining the results there needs to be clarity surrounding the terms "small amounts" and "occur naturally in canned foods". Are small amounts discerned by percentage or absolute quantity? In a small package 1mg of something can be very significant whereas in a large package that could be virtually nothing. Furthermore, does canned foods signify all canned foods or certain canned foods? It would be normal to find a chemical from the cans in the food, but rather abnormal to find a chemical that exists exclusively in canned beef. These terms need to be clarified in order to verify the conclusion.

While it is quite possible that the business magazine's conclusion is true, the tuna cans were not found to be culpable for the symptoms experienced by their consumers, certain questions need to be answered before this statement can be posited. The reliability and accuracy of the survey needs to assessed, the chemical testing needs to be validated, and the chemical makeup of the tuna cans needs to be compared to results of tuna cans known to be non-symptom inducing to truly evaluate whether the conclusion is true or false.