There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Please help me improve this essay and if possible give me an idea of what score you would give it and why. Any and all help is very much appreciated so thank you in advance!

Endangered animal and plant species often play vital roles in maintaining the equilibrium of our ecosystem. It does not require grand expenditures to preserve these important members of the environment and by maintaining or increasing the populations of certain animal species, society actually saves jobs that are reliant on the existence of those species.

By saving endangered plant and animal species that bolster the economy, society is actually keeping many jobs from being eliminated. Take for example bees, which have of late become an endangered species. If bees were to go extinct, in addition to the death of many flowers which contribute to the beauty of nature, society would be left without honey. Without honey several jobs would be come obsolete. Firstly beekeepers would no longer have bees to keep and that job would cease to exist. Then companies responsible for processing and packaging that honey to be put sold would be no more; that is an entire factory closed down. Furthermore, these effects are not just one fold considering that there are several companies that participate in the manufacturing and sale of honey. Therefore by protecting this endangered species, society is saving many jobs and aiding the economy by providing a product to be sold.

Moreover, the wording "at great cost in money and jobs" is misleading. In addition to the positive economic impact of saving jobs, attempts to protect endangered wildlife do not automatically involve an upfront expenditure. Rather, this cause would be better enacted by the passing of legislation prohibiting the hunting of endangered species or destroying of lands growing endangered plants. A recent example of such legislation is the Big Cat Act in the early 2000s. This piece of legislation attempted to outlaw the taking of endangered species from the wild to be kept as pets. While this may cause some inconvenience to hunters or farmers, it does not require an great upfront expenditure.

Lastly, several endangered species are indispensable members of our ecosystem. Without certain predator-prey relationships, certain species could become rampant and result in negative consequences to our every day lives. For instance, in Louisiana there is a large population of alligators, but there are no natural predators to restrict the propagation of the species. Without a present predator the alligator population continues to grow and many people now find them in their pools and backyards regularly. Should a predator go extinct, but not its prey, the subordinate population can grow exponentially and wreak havoc.

While at times society and governments may have more pressing issues to focus on than endangered species, there is still justification for being wary of population declines in endangered species as they are important contributors to the economy and the ecosystem and can be saved with legislative action rather than grandiose spending.