A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

The author concludes that businesses desire success should only hire people who need less than six hours of sleep every night. This argument is dependent on several assumptions that if false undermine the author's claim. The entirety of their conclusion depends on the fact that people who need less sleep have more successful businesses. However, scrutiny of the article reveals little credible evidence for this claim. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

The biggest assumption is that the data provided is credible. There is no mention of how the study was conducted, and no reason is presented for why the word of the advertising executives is veracious. If the study was conducted by a sleep coaching group that trains people to only need six hours of sleep a night, then there is substantial reason to believe the study biased. Additionally, the advertising executives could be lying about needing sleep because they think it could bolster their reputation, or they could be lying about the success of their business hoping the article could gain them new clients. Undoubtedly, if the assumption that the study is accurate is incorrect, then the authors claim is not based in any fact.

Furthermore, even if one posits the information in the study, there is still the issue of "association" versus causation. It is wholly possible that the advertising executives with the most successful business require no more sleep than six hours a night; however this does not mean that their businesses are successful because they need no more than six hours of sleep. Perhaps all of the successful business owners coincidentally attended Harvard business school. It's possible that the successful advertising executives are simply advertising more desirable products, but do not possess better business acumen due to sleeping less. There is not substantial evidence to demonstrate that the sleep is the cause of the business's success.

Finally, assuming that the study was found to be factual and a correlation was proven between the amount of sleep a person requires and how successful their business is, there is no guarantee that the claim holds true for every person who requires less than 6 hours sleep. There is a myriad of different people in the world each with idiosyncrasies that may help or harm them in business. Just because the 300 Mentian advertising experts who slept less performed better does not make this claim universally applicable.

The author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, they would have to provide concrete evidence for the assumptions presented here. By taking the author's claims as fact without proof companies could be hiring employees based on improper criteria, such as sleep requirements rather than the proper advertising abilities. Consequently these employees may not assist the companies in becoming more successful even though they need less than six hours of sleep a night.