“Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places”

The purpose of the legal system is to deliver justice not to uniformly sentence people to punishment; therefore, in there interest of true justice, circumstance, time, and place must be considered in the execution of the law. A necessary precedent for this execution of justice is laws that are flexible enough to allow for consideration of such factors in their enforcement.

Firstly, examine the crime of theft. While one could certainly assert that stealing is never morally good, it is necessary to concede that at times it's morally permissible. For instance, if someone steals because they and their family are starving, those circumstances differentiate the crime from someone who steals out of avarice or for the thrill of stealing. Assuming that the two thieves have stolen an equal value of items, justice would dictate that the person stealing out of necessity does not merit the same severity of punishment as the person who stole for enjoyment. A provincial outlook in this case, considering only the crime while neglecting the circumstances, has serious repercussions; in fact this doctrinaire approach is often carried out in modern society. All it does is further propel low income families into poverty by often stripping them heir main provider. While the crime by necessity does not merit amnesty from the law, it does deserve clemency.

Furthermore, time needs to be considered when carrying out the law. Utilizing the case of Cyntoia Brown as an example, it's evident that as time passes and society gains more knowledge and insight into the human condition, the definition of what constitutes criminal activity changes. Cyntoia Brown was a victim of sex trafficking who was pimped out by her boyfriend in the early 2000s. When she was 14-years-old she felt her life was in danger during a meeting with a jon and shot him in self-defense. During the trial of the case, she was considered a prostitute, rather than a sex-trafficking victim and consequently sentenced to life in prison. Her case has recently received significant media attention and served as an impetus for changing the law so that someone under the age of 17 cannot be considered a prostitute given that at that age prostitution would almost certainly not be consensual. This case, a true travesty of justice, shows that when time can reveal egregious errors in previous decisions of the law. Moreover by allowing for sufficient flexibility in the law justice can better be carried out because there is the opportunity to correct past errors. Following the change of the law in Tennessee, the location of this case, Cyntoia's case was reviewed and after being rehabilitated she was released.

Admittedly there are crimes that are absolutely not justifiable, such as rape, and therefore not every law should be flexible. Rape has always been wrong and neither circumstance nor time will change that. However, this suggestion for flexibility is not a blanket suggestion and there are plethora of examples of when justice would have been better served had the law been more flexible, such as the case of Cyntoia. Laws should be reviewed by professionals and adjusted to allow for the best execution of justice, not the assignment of the harshest punishment.