"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Please help me improve this essay and if possible give me an idea of what score you would give it and why. Any and all help is very much appreciated so thank you in advance!

Many say that young people are the future. Therefore it follows that if the people of today want a bright future tomorrow, they should play a positive role in forming young people. Moreover they should mold young people to be leaders so that they can have larger scale impacts. They should instill in these leaders characteristics such as compassion, competitiveness, and cooperation. Both competitiveness and cooperation are integral characteristics of a leader and both traits need to be present for success.

In the United States government, cooperation is needed not only to work collaboratively on creating policy, but also because for the approbation of legislation once it is written. Without cooperation among parties given the setup of the United States electoral college it's possible that even the best legislation won't pass. Cooperation allows for the free flow of ideas and capabilities to make concessions and edits from diverse input, so that when legislation reaches the floor it has a better chance of passing. However, one could not succeed in government by cooperation alone. Competition in this case precedes the opportunity for cooperation. In order to win the a role in government by election competition is required, but it is important that once a role in government is obtained there is a balance of competitiveness and cooperation with an emphasis on cooperation.

Similarly in industry there must be competition and cooperation. Within a company cooperation is essential. More people collaborating on a product means more ideas and skillsets available for use. Additionally, different teams within a company need to cooperate as they are mutually dependent. Finance needs to get along with the people who make the product or there will be no product; contrarily, the people who make the product needs to get along with finance or they may get less funding. The competition component among industries exists between companies rather than within a single company. Companies have to compete for consumers and clients. For instance, examine recent trends in telecommunications; just 10 years ago a cell phone plan for a family of 4 was near $80, but now it is just $30. The emergence of new companies with lower prices has forced the prices down at all the companies. If AT&T still costed $80 but people could have the same service from T-Mobile for $30, AT&T would be out of business.

One could argue that there are leadership positions such as professional sports coaches in which only competitiveness is required or that in government there is only room for cooperation not competition. However even sports coaches must be cooperative with their own staff and player regardless of how competitive they are with other teams. Even government officials have to compete to win over the support of the public. Ultimately the best leaders have a balance between the two and are judicious when it comes to deciding when to use which.