Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the passage, the author concluded that the movie production company should allocate a greater share of the budget to an advertisement if the company wants to increase the attendance. The author had come to this conclusion based on the recent decrease in the number of viewers in spite of increasing the positive reviews from reviewers. However, the conclusion was based on several unfounded assumptions. There are questions that need to be answered in order to evaluate the argument.

First of all, the author concluded that if they allocate more budget on advertising they can revive the number of viewers. However, he/she did not mention whether the lack of advertising was the main reason for decreasing or not? It is possible that there are other reasons. It is possible that people prefer to watch movies on the internet and the marketing department did not put it into consideration. Or it is possible that the company did not use professional directors for their advertisements and there is a low attraction in the previous advertising. So, if they fix the problem with the advertisements, there is no need to allocate more money.

Secondly, the author mentioned that the contents of positive reviews were not reaching enough to the viewers. There is no reason to conclude that viewers could not access these reviews. It is possible that the interest of viewers of Super Screen movies is not aligned with the interest of reviewers. Maybe, there were some critics who wrote negative reviews about the movies and their interests were fit the viewers and they abandoned reviewing and there are only positive reviews and as a consequence, the percentage of positive reviews increased. So, we cannot be confident about the quality of movies because of positive reviews. We need more information about reviewers and their interests.

Finally, the author cited that a recent report from the marketing department showed a decrease in the viewers during the past year. But he/she did not mention whether there were any other changes in the company or not. It is possible there are other factors which contributed to this decrease. For instance, it is possible that the company has weak coverage during the past year. Or maybe, they have changed the time of broadcasting movies from afternoons to late nights and most of the viewers prefer to watch movies in the afternoon. So, if there were other reasons in a few numbers of attendance, allocating more money in advertising is useless and has no effect.

To sum it all, the argument was based on several unfounded assumptions. The author should answer the issues which elaborated above. If we have more information, we can fully evaluate the persuasiveness of the conclusion.