"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The assertion that the best way for a society to prepare its people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition is a controversial issue. I think there are some issues that we should consider but in general, I agree with the statement because of reasons which are elucidated below.

First of all, we live in a society and in order to make a good impact on our country we need cooperation with other people. So a sense of cooperation is an important factor in achieving our goals. Moreover, in the absence of this sense people cannot trust each other and leaders can not handle works efficiently. For example, assume a company in which all the employees lack a sense of cooperation. In this situation managers can not delegate different tasks to their employees and as a consequence company will not achieve its goals.

Moreover, there are some dark sides to improving the sense of competition among young people. It is possible that they do immoral actions to win the competition. For example, assume there is two company in a country which produce the same products. These companies are competing to attract more customer and there is a strong sense of competition among them. It is possible that they use some wrong ways in order to win the competition. So, it is better to improve a sense of cooperation instead of competition.

On the other hand, improving a sense of competition can have a positive impact on leadership. It can motivate managers to work harder in order to win the competition with other companies. In the absence of competition, there is less chance to have effective leaders and they become demotivated even in the cooperative atmosphere.

To sum it all, there are numerous benefits to instilling a sense of cooperation in future leaders, but we should consider that they need a sense of competition too. Otherwise, they will not successful leaders in the future.