The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the passage, the business manager of a TV station concluded that in order to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The author has come to this conclusion based on the complaints of the viewers and the canceling of advertising contracts. However, the conclusion is based on several unfounded assumptions and we need more evidence to fully evaluate the argument.

First of all, the author mentions the complaints of the viewers but did not provide any information about the statistics. It is possible that only a small percentage of viewers make a complaint and from these few numbers most of the complaints were about whether and local news coverage. Moreover, it is possible that the viewers' complaints were about the quality of programs, not the time devoted to such programs. Maybe there has been a recent change in the cast of the local news program or wrong prediction in whether news had increased and viewers are concerned with these issues, not the time. So, we need more evidence about the main reason for the complaints and the number of dissatisfied viewers.

Secondly, the author did not provide any information about the target group of viewers in the TV station and the age and gender of the main viewers. Also, he/she did not provide info about the people who complained. It is possible that the main viewers of the TV station are young people but most of the complaints were from old retired people. Or even it is possible that most of the viewers were ladies and all of the complaints were from males. So, we need more information about the viewers who complain and the viewers who are the target of the station. This information includes the age and gender of the viewers.

Finally, the author cites that local businesses have canceled their contracts and concluded that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news. However, he/she did not say why local businesses canceled their contracts? It is possible that there are reasons that they canceled their contracts other than what he/she mentioned. It is possible that businesses find the price of advertising so high and want to adjust another contract. Or maybe they find other effective ways to advertise. For example, it is possible that they try to advertise on the internet and receive more positive feedback from this type of advertising. So, we should know why businesses canceled their contracts to fully evaluate the argument.

To sum it all, the argument was based on several unfounded assumptions that weakened the persuasiveness of the conclusion. we need more evidence to fully evaluate the argument from various aspects.