All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The assertion that it is necessary to hire consultant for the companies is a controversial issue. Some people believe that it is necessary to hire such consultants in order to suggest ways to improve efficiency whereas others think that employees of the company can give useful feedback and companies do not need consultants. I think listening to the employee is useful but can not substitute with consultants because of the reasons which are elucidated below.

First of all, the suggestions of employees can play an important role in finding ways to operate companies more efficiently because employees are completely aware of various aspects of the operation and can give a beneficial suggestion. For instance, assume a company that produces food products and managers want to handle the company in a more efficient way. In this scenario, employees who work in the company, for example, workers, are fully aware of the weak points of the company. If the managers spend more time listening to the workers, then they can find problems in the production line and find ways to solve the problems.

On the other hand, there are some problems that employees are not aware of them or they can not suggest any way to increase the efficiency of the company. In this situation, managers should hire expert consultants to evaluate the efficiency of the operations and suggest ways to improve efficiency. For example, In a high-tech company that produces heavy engineering equipment, workers do not know anything about the ways to improve the efficiency of the operation because they do not have any expertise in industrial engineering. So managers should hire a consultant to find the problems in the company and managers can implement their suggestions to gain more profit.

Moreover, there are some cases in which managers of a company can not hire outside consultants because they produce some sort of sensitive products and do not want to divulge the procedure of the production. In such cases like producing weapons or army tools, authorities should receive consultation from the employees inside the company who can help managers to improve efficiency. However, it is hard to find such a consultant inside the company, and managers should get limited advice from outside consultants in order to maximize the production of the company.

To sum it all, I think whether hiring a consultant or not mostly dependant on the type of the company and the level of the complexity of the production. If the employees can give beneficial advice, then hiring consultants in useless. But in general, we can not only depend on the employees to find ways to operate more efficiently.