"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous, and explain how these examples shape your position.

The assertion that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum is a controversial issue. Some people agree with the issue while others do not believe in the national curriculum. I partially agree with the statement because of reasons which elucidated below.

First of all, we should consider that studying under the same national curriculum has its pros. It provides equal materials for all of the students in a country and gives an equal chance to all the students. For instance, Iran is a country that offers the same curriculum for all the students until their 18. After high school, the students prepare themselves for the national university exam. If they did not pass similar courses during school, they will not able to compete with other students fairly. So, the same curriculum provides equal opportunity for all students.

Secondly, by using the same curriculum for all students, universities can evaluate and compare the transcripts of students more efficiently and make a good judgment about students. For example, in South Korea, all the students who had the same curriculum compete to get admission from renowned universities in Korea. The only way for universities to evaluate and compare students is their transcripts and previous grades. So, with the same curriculum, universities can make a good decision and choose students based on an equal curriculum.

But, we should consider that the national curriculum has some drawbacks. It is possible that students become demotivated because they find this curriculum boring and not interested in it. Also, in some cases national curriculum circumspect students and kill their creativeness. So, if education fail to make students creative, it cannot achieve the primary goals of educating which is providing a good environment for students to find their talents. For instance, based on a national survey from people who give up studying which held in Iran, almost 70 percent of them find the curriculum boring, and the main reason for abandoning the studying was the national curriculum.

To sum it up, the national curriculum has numerous benefit for the students and governments, but we should create a curriculum which satisfies all the needs of students and lead to making creative persons in the future.