Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company arrived at the conclusion that their movies are good but that people are not aware of the good movies, so in order for the public to know about the good movies, more money should be spent on advertisement. This conclusion is based on some dubious assumptions such as how many movies are really good and are the reviewers, who rated the movies highly, credible? These questions need to be answered before the recommendation is put into action. My stance on this is that I disagree with the recommendation until the author answers these two questions.

First of all, how many movies received positive reviews by the reviewers? The author mentions that some specific movies received positive reviews greater than the preceding years. If out of ten movies, for example, the reviewers rated only two or three of them as good then the authors conclusion that fewer people attended the movies because of lack of knowledge about the existence of good movies falls apart. If the movies themselves are not good then why would anyone want to watch them? Spending more money on advertisement will only eat away the available resources which should be preserved for making good movies. So, before moving on with spending more money on advertisement, it should be made clear that how many movies were actually good.

Secondly, are these reviewers credible? In other words, are these reviewers famous enough that their words will be taken seriously? If the movie reviewers are not known by many then it does not matter how much they like or dislike any movie. The movie should be rated by those who are famous for doing so. Furthermore, the opinion of the public should also be taken into account to establish the decency of the movies. If the public likes the movie then the movie must be good. So, the author must also answer the question of the credibility of the reviewers before moving on with the recommendation.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed because of lack of enough evidence and its dependent on some unanswered assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above mentioned questions then moving on with the recommended course of spending more money on advertisement is justified otherwise it will only be a waste of resources which will have a negative impact on the further projects.