The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that to ensure the autonomy of a country, the illegal immigrants should be returned to their original country. However, this conclusion is based on some assumptions which need further evaluation prior to defaming any one specific cause. The author must be able to provide proof for the following two assumptions before recommending to force the illegal immigrants to their country of origin.

First of all, the author suggests that the independence of any nation is based on the strength of its borders alone. However, in order for a nation to be autonomous various other factors, including the performance of the nation on a global stage, its import-export strength and the performance of the government, are very important. If the country lacks on any these it will be very difficult for the nation to stand independent of others. So, to say that only border strength is important while evaluating the independence of a nation is wrong. Having a tightly secured border is useful but not the only way of making a country stand on its feet.

Moreover, to say that the illegal immigrants are the cause of dwindling economy is also not entirely true. The population, whether legal or illegal, has to work to earn its bread and butter. No one is given food for free. If the illegal immigrants work for their living, which they have to, then they are only helping to boost the economy. No proof or evidence is provided by the author which states otherwise. Furthermore, immigrants help keep a healthy dose of diversity in any country. While it is true that having a lot of illegal immigrants can pose a threat to the national resources, if all of them work to alleviate this concern then it will only help the nation.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed because of lack of evidence. However, if the author is able to provide any proof regarding threat to national economy or identity then the opposite stance will be true. But as of now, to suggest that all the illegal immigrants must be sent back to their original country does not hold water.