In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The argument that Prunty County has to implement the same methods, that were implemented by Butler County instead of lowering the speed limit to 45km per hour to improve highway safety. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The Author have come to this conclusion based on the number of accidents recorded after lowering the speed limit. The conclusion relies on assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that exceeding the speed limit is the only reason for the accidents in prunty county. However, this may not be the case .Perhaps the accidents were caused by other reasons. The Person travelling within the speed limit may also cause accidents due to lack of driving knowledge. sometimes, there may be natural causes like sudden attacks in the middle of the driving. The argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly taken other factors in consideration.

Second, the argument assumes that both Prunty County and Butler County has similar kind of drivers. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between drivers of prunty county and butler county. Perhaps the drivers of butler county are more carefull. If the argument had provided evidence that both counties have same kind of factors then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author assumes that the stats provided by traffic police supports that the people were exceeding the speed limit. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of people exceeding the speed limit. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about how accidents are reduced in prunty county by following rules implemented in butler county.