In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The Argument stated in the passages is After doing the work of road improvement project in Butler country the number of accidents decreases in that country last year. This will have same effect in Prunty Country. At first this argument seems perfect. After seeing it in detail it is found out that the argument is dependent on certain evidence. The evidence can weaken or strengthen the argument.

After doing the work of road improvement project the number of accidents decreases. This can only happen when accidents are caused due to problems in infrastructure of road. If the accidents are not caused due to problem in infrastructure of road, then after doing the work of road improvement project number of accidents wont decrease. The purpose of doing road improvement project won’t be resolved. Thus, the time and finance used for the project can be a waste of resources. This seriously weakens the argument. If the accidents are caused due to problem in infrastructure of road, then after doing the work of road improvement project number of accidents will decrease. The purpose of doing road improvement project will be resolved. The life and damage to the property of people can be saved. This seriously strengthen the argument.

The road improvement work was done in Prunty country and cases of accidents decreased last year. The road improvement work may or may not have same effect in Butler country. If in Butler country the number of accidents caused is not due to problems in infrastructure, then the road improvement project will not prove useful