In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author has cited some facts and come to the conclusion that if similar road improvement is brought to the Prunty Country like that in Butler Country than roads accidents number will decrease. However, the argument is rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions and thus, not strong enough to buttress the preceded conclusion.

First of all, the argument is based on the questionable assumption that higher speed is the indication of the number of accidents increasing. However, there is no substantial information about the number of accidents happened in the highway. Data supporting the evidence provided by the author is a paucity of information. One point may be that drivers are not able to take control of their cars or they do not have enough information about the way of driving on the highways. It is also important to say that highway patrol reports cannot be taken into account for measuring the accidents. Perhaps there is no such board on the highway indicate the speed limit in the road.

The author also attributes that Prunty County should develop the same kind of road improvements as the Butler Country did five years ago like resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. However, the author is unable to provide what effect it had on the decreasing number of accidents. Alongside, there maybe possibilities that Butler Country's road had narrow and rough roads whereas Prunty's road are smooth and wide.

Finally, the author stands claims that Butler's roads having 55mph speed limit yet a low number of accidents reported than five years ago. It is plausible that people a high number of people have migrated from Bulter county to other places in these five years reducing the number of accidents to 25 percent which does not seem accurate. One point that cannot go unnoticed is that there may feasibility that weather condition of Prunty and Butler is not same which could lead to more number of accidents in Prunty's road.

In brief, the claim is based on unconvincing background. To sum up, the suggestion made by the author is not well thought, as aforementioned reasons clearly indicates that the idea is not cogent.