It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

No any individual can survive without being social. People always need someone to share their joy, problems, happiness, and for celebration. Friends are an integral part of life and a person is judged how social he or she is on the basis of friendly relation he or she has maintained all their life. While some people may agree that making new friends is important than keeping an old friend but I contradict with that statement. I feel this way because of the following reason.

Firstly, it is of uttermost importance about having a good friend instead of having many friends. Good friends will always help you with your problems and take you out of that problem. I believe that less keeping a definite circle of a friend is superior than making new friends time and again. New friends will not have ideas about your life, about your way of thinking and your behaviour. But if you stick with your old friends, you do not have to bring a change in your behaviour to fit in a group. Once I had to move to next school far from my previous school since my dad had his job posted there, it was hard for me to get along with the friends there. I was not treated in a good way since my behaviour of greeting them was not good, but that thing never bothered my old friends.

An old friend is like family. They will be with you no matter what mistakes you have made, they will treat same as before. But it is hard to cope with new friends. It takes time to get along with the new friends you have just met. Making new friends have been a lot easier due to the development of technologies and invention. I would prefer my old friend over a virtual friend. Such an incident happened when I was in final year of high school. I made a good friend on the internet and when my school trip was in the place where my new internet friend was living, I was excited to meet him yet nothing came out as we expected when we met after a long chat on the internet. But nothing changes between you and your old friend if you do not meet for a long time also.

Additionally, it is hard to find someone who knows you more than yourself. Making new friend is not an arduous task, but it is hard to maintain the same relation as you had with your old friend. Because your old friend will never make fun of your weakness and never take advantages of your strength, I believe old friends are more important.

Due to the aforementioned reasons, I think that keeping old friends is more important than it is to make new friends. Keeping old friends has more advantages than making new friends.