The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The provided passage suggest that attractive new dormitories would make flow of more number of students enroll at Buckingham. Yet sufficient evidence is not included in support of this claim. To make a strong claim, one need to how many total students are to be enrolled, how much space is required for the new students and how much more cost is needed to afford of campus housing.

First, the arguer claims lack reliable informtaion. To assume the claim cogent one must include the data about the number of students enrollment. Thus there will be a clear determination whether new dormitories are required or not. Data should be reliable based on the current scientific calculation as the enrollment is calculated on the current trend.

Further, the director standpoint is that the existing dormitory are inadequate for number of students who are yet to enroll in Buckingham. In scrutiny of this, the claim is unfounded. It is nowhere explained; how many students are enrolling and how many dormitories are required. The present dormitories would be enough for new comer. According to passage, it is said that enrollmet will be double over 50 years but it seems the author in unaware about the changes that may happen in between the time as nothing remains the remain for long. Here this claim weakens the argument made by the writer.

Furthermore, the author conclude about increasing cost of off-campus housing. H/s is unable to present housing status around Buckingham college. Being unable to potray why off-campus housing can be difficult to students, the author seems to bloster this argument wishfully. The director of student housing would have been butressed by some third parties so that they can get tender for constructing dormitories.

Thus the argument is unsound. The evidence in support of conclusion that Buckingham college needs a number of new dormitories are futile. Ultimately the argument fails in supporting the assumption made by director in accordance to build new dormitorie fornew enrollment.