In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Highways are important for the country especially in transportation with in time limit. As Prunty County and Butler County observed that the some accident are increases and they worked to control the accident rate. There are so many reasons for the accident on highway and government should analyse them and take strict action. To control the speed of vehicle is not a good solution to control accident rate. The Butler County worked good and got the results but these results are not enough because it find in five years.

Furthermore, the Prunty County only focused on the speed of the vehicles where the Butler County focused on the lane widths, resurfacing rough highways and dangerous intersections. These all are the basic responsibilities of the authority and the Butler County did not take major steps to control the accidents in spite of that they only repair roads and intersections to make them safe from convicted.

Additionally, it is good the Butler County take care of the basic safety of the highway but what about the rash drivers? At night-time most of the drivers drunk and drive rashly on the highways and never care about others. The road authority should take strict rules and regulations against rash driving. Highways are developed to run vehicle with high-speed due to which they can reach in less time because city roads take too much time to travel due to traffic. So to control the speed is not good decision.

However, the Butler County found 25% fewer reported accidents with their safe majors action. But analytically if we see the figure than in five years decrease in accidents is not too much because it shows only the reported accidents. There are so many accidents which happened and may not be reported such as if a car jumped in cliff after jerk by a truck late night. Still there is 75 percent of highway accidents happened and there is one more reason for accidents is doing stunt by youth and bike race to gain thrill.

Finally, before take any decision or making action plan Prunty as well as Butler County have to analyse the accidents causes and then move ahead. On the basis of aforementioned discussion I think no one can stop the accidents but we can prevent with safety majors.