The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given article the medical experts explain the assumptions behind the decrease in the physical fitness of the people. They concluded that due to decrease in economic growth people spend less money on fitness products and services so, less economic growth less fitness level. There are hidden assumptions in the given article which shows the argument is based on unstated assumptions.

Moreover, the arguer compares the data of current year to the fitness data of twenty years ago. This comparison is not testified because twenty years is long time and in two decades the generations changed so much. For example, twenty years ago in India people don't know about western food and they ate Indian species only, but todays western food is famous in India. The atmosphere of India does not allow people to eat too cheese and bread, which increases fat make them lethargic. So, the arguer cannot say that in last twenty years the economic growth decreases because every country has been growing with high-speed due to technology.

Furthermore, in the given argument there are two major points first is the experts mistaken that spending too much time using computer has caused a decline in fitness. Second is the one quarter citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness. Today’s more people use computer and laptop so must be healthy, but arguer mentioned that today’s more people less healthy. The arguer must pay attention on given contradictory statements which shows unstated assumptions.

Finally, there are different reasons to be physically unhealthy besides the economic factors. Such as, work and family stress, pollution, competition, endemic, poor eating habits, environmental conditions and so on. It is possible that a wealthy person may have poor health conditions and a poor person may have good physical healthy. In my opinion, it is in our hand to manage our budget weather we must spend on unhealthy fatty food or on healthy food habits so, a person’s physical fitness not only depends on the economic growth of the country instead of it has so many factors also.

In the end, the argument is rather weak. It is based on shaky premises and flawed logic. However, if the above assumptions are explained in the statement, it will be greatly reinforced. Therefore, the conclusion is not acceptable, more facts needed to be presented.