Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

The roads and highways are equally important as public transportation. In my opinion the government should spend more money on improving roads and highways. There are several reasons why I choose roads and highways.

First, there is no point in spending money on public transportation unless the roads are damaged. If the government put money in public transportation and bought new buses and trains for people then the maintenance will be increased because of rough roads. In my town the government started new buses connecting with big cities around it. After a year the buses went to the workshop for repair work because of rough roads.

Second, the bumpy and cranky roads and highways are major reasons for accidents. Nowadays so many people prefer to travel with their own vehicle so the impairment of roads and highways is more important than public transportation. In the USA the speed limit is too high on highways so the transportation department always takes care of the maintenance of highways and roads.

Third,it is difficult to walk on rugged roads in rainy seasons and waters splashed from pits on roads because of vehicles on pedestrian. The pedestrian may have slipped on a rocky road and got major injuries. I had an accident when I was in school. I was crossing the road and there was water blockage on the road and my foot got dis-balanced. I got a fracture in my right leg and I lost my final exams. To prevent people from damage the government should spend more money on roads and highways.

Finally, smooth and safe roads save lives as well as the time of people. However public transportation are also important for the public but first the government makes sure roads are fit then spend on transportation.