In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that Prunty Country should undertake the same kind of road improvement project that has been taken by Butler Country five years ago, because the Butler Country was to able to decrease percentage of the reported accident by taking the road improvement project, but the Prunty Country failed to decrease the percentage of reported accident by taking an initiative in limiting the speed. At first glance, the argument seems to plausible but careful observation reveals that it contains several flaws which make it is based on the unpersuasive assumption which is inferred from lack of evidence.

First, the author claims that the Prunty Country lowered its speed limit 55 to 45 mile per hours on all highways but this effort has been futile, and, at the same time, the highway patrol reported many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. So there is a question that arises in the claim, if the drivers, who crossed the speed limit, were responsible for the accidents, the author could not say that this effort was null to decrease the number of accidents. Perhaps the effort would have been productive to decline the number of the accident if many drivers had not exceeded the speed limit. To clarify whether this effort is unproductive or not, the author needs to examine how many drivers crossed the speed limit and what percent of them were responsible for the number of accidents.

Second, the author recommends that the Prunty Country should undertake the same kind of road improvement project that has been taken by the Butler Country five years ago. but the author fails to mention the ratio of traffic congestion to the lane width, if the ratio in the Prunty Country is now the same as in the Butler Country, it would be a worse decision for the Prunty Country to undertake the same kind of road improvement project taken by the Butler County. Regarding the ratio of traffic congestion to the lane width, the author needs to give clear evidence about the current condition of the highways in the Prunty Country.

Finally, the author merely cited that there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in the Butler County this past year than there were five years ago after taking road improvement projects, but the author did not give the real figure about the number of accidents. if any initiative that has been taken in the butler country, it might have influenced to increase the vehicle in the butler country in this past year. Thus, the numbers of accidents were the same in the past year as they were in five years ago but percentage of the reported accidents decreased by 25 %. if this scenario is true, it must weaken the argument.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands and the explanation about the speed limit and road improvement projects are not cogent enough to support its recommendation. To bolster the argument, the author needs to provide concrete evidence in the way of details analysis of the argument that it will rule out all the doubts and questions which has been arisen in this extent.