Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that further research on the subject, based on dr. karp's claim, should be conducted via the interview-centered method to get more reliable information on tertian child rearing practice. At first glance, the argument seem to be plausible, but thoughtful observation reveals that the argument contains several flaws, which render it is based on unpersuasive assumption inferred from lack of information. The recommendation, made by some anthropologists, invites a number of questions whose answer will help in evaluating the arguments.

first, the argument solely provides the information that dr. field studied tertian culture by observation-centered approach, whereas dr karp studied the group of island including tertian by interview-centered method. but it does not provide any data about how many children participated in the response of interview conducted by dr karp and what percent of the total participated children in the interview were from tertian. if very negligible number of children of tertian participated in the interview compared to the total number of participants, the dr. karp’s decision about dr. field conclusion would be wrong. The argument would have been more convincing if it had explicitly mentioned the real figure of the participants.

Second, the argument merely assumes that the culture of island tertia about the up bring children was same as they were twenty years ago. this is only assumption made without solid ground. The culture of any region can be changed over a period of time. The argument fails to mention any possible causes whether it might have changed the culture of tertia within twenty years, if happened, the argument would be wrong. if the argument had clearly mention the probable causes that did not changes the culture of tertia, the argument would have been more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the argument sites that dr. karp only conducted interview of the children without considering the interview of their biological parents, but dr. field closely observed the both of them and made his conclusion. it is very unusual and shameful jobs that children do not get chances to pass their most of time with their parents. Regarding this, if the children felt shame to tell the truth that they passed their most time of time without father and mother. To transparent the argument, dr. karp should have included the parents in his conducted interviews.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands and the explanation about two different approaches in studying tertian culture is not cogent enough to support the argument. To strength the argument, sufficient documents including possible causes should be provided in the way of details analysis of the argument that it will rule out all the doubts and questions which have been arisen in the argument.