.In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The notion that Prunty Country should imitate Bulter Country's approach is cogent at first glance. Because the number of accidents is not decreased by limiting speed and many drivers prefer not to follow the limitation. At the same time, the Bulter Country's method of avoiding accidents had recieved a great outcome. However, the argument is filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. These assumptions need more evidence to substantiate. Three reasons would suffice to support that idea.

To begin with, the arguer provides no evidence of the validity of the number of accidents. It is hard to deny the possibility that government just surveys a small region of the city. Nonetheless, the overall accident rate had decreased significantly. At the same time, it is also possible that they just calculated the accidents of a period which is too short to make a fair conclusion. Hence, the arguer should provide more evidence to support the conclusion above.

Moreover, the arguer fails to prove the drivers who neglect the speed limitation are on purpose. There is equally possible that these drivers know nothing about the new rule. They would think themselves are just following their normal speed. In that case, the badly following of limitation is caused by the goverment. And the faith of that limitation is less valid. Therefore, it is essential to rule out that explanation by other evidence.

Finally, even if the assumptions above are true, the arguer still fails to substantiate that the same method would also be effective after several years. Time could make everything different. It is impossible to make sure the same renovation would recieve the same feedback. So it is hard to prove the approach before five years would work now. At the same time, Bulter Country may have a different cause of accidents. It means a lot to make the effect of increasing width clear.

To sum up, the argument is less persuasive than seem. It is necessary to offer more information and evidence to rule out other explanations and make the argument more cogent.