Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The notion that Nature's Way would be profitable in Plainsville may seem cogent at first glance. The arguer suggests that the area which lead healthy lives like Plainsville also makes Nature's Way successful and the health clubs have more people. At the same time, the students may also buy wheir products. However, these conclusions are filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. Three reasons would suffice to support my opinion.

To begin with, the arguer incorrectly concluded the Plainsville would resonse like other area. However, the residents of different area develop various habits. It is hard to deny the possiblity that the product of Nature's Way could not satisify the local people. Worse than, if the local stores have a large comsumer base and people all believe the product of them. The Nature's Way would have a hard time when competing with these stores. Hence, more evidence could be demanded to prove the validity of this conclustion.

Moreover, the arguer fails to assume that the large number of people in club could bring more customers. Nonetheless, no evidence is provided to prove the Plainsville have a similar population with other area. It is equally possible that the large population or rather short of clubs makes the number of mambers seems large. At the same time, the arguer fails to substantiate the validity of the number of clubs. They may just take part in for benefit but never come to excerise. Therefore, more persuasive evidence is needed to robust the arguer;s point.

Finally, even if the assumptions above are true, the arguer still fails to assume that these schoolchildren could bring them benefits. Because the schoolchildren have no reliable income to support their life, they could never be the main customers. If their parents make them focus on studying, the less time would be left to do sports. At the same time, the students may prefer games more rather than sports. Therefore, it is necessary to reconsider the living condition and living style of local students.

To sum up, the argument is less persuasive than seem. The opinion that the Nature's Way would profitable also untenable. More correspond information is needed to support the arguer's assumptions and rule out other explanations.