In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A highly important issue of highway safety is discussed here for the Prunty County. The failure of its past effort to decrease accidents has lead to the suggestion that the County should follow the strategy that was successful for the Butler County. The argument provides a strong result for the failure of the previous policy in Prunty County as well as a detailed list of improvements that were successful in Butler County. Nonetheless, the arguement does not account for the evaluations that need to be made before implimenting the adopted policy from Butler County.

One such evaluation will be a detailed comparisions of the present conditions of the roads in both Counties, their climate conditions throughout the year and the policies relating to car safety in general. These comparisions are important to correctly estimate that similar positive results can be obtain in Prunty County as well. The comparision of the roads will educate us about exact need of changes in lane widths or resurfacing. If the issue in Prunty County, unlike Butler County, does not lie on the conditions of the roads, the project will be a waste of time, energy and capital. More importantly, the climate in both areas throughout the year will determine the cause and restriction of the accidents. For instance, if the climate in Prunty County, unlike Butler County, is such that it leads to accumulation of dry ice which causes high number of accidents. Then the project that worked for Butler County will not benefit Prunty County as the reason for accident is completely different. Taking this forward, the policies about the car safety can help in understanding comparision of causes of accidents in both Counties. If the Prunty County does not have the policy to change to winter tires when it snows, but Butler County does, then it is certianly not the highway responsible and again that policy adopted will be ineffective.

Another important evaluations needed before the adopted policy can be implemented is the flow and peak times of the traffic in both Counties. If the flow her and peak time in during the day in Butler County, and the opposite is true for Prunty County then once again the prime reason is missed by applying the policy adopted from the Butler County, as high number of accidents tend to occur during nightime. Hence, if all the evaluations and some important surveys about the economic and demecratic standing of this policies come out to be positive then it can be estimated very well that the policy adopted from Butler County will increase highway safety in Prunty County.