The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument given is about a television station's current situation for the late-night news programs and future directions to sustain a good position. The argument suggests that the decrease in time allocated to local and weather news has lead to increased complaints from the viewer and lower advertisement revenue which affects the station's overall revenues. The suggestion given in the argument is that the time allocated to local and weather news should be increased in order to attract larger audience and increase revenues. this argument provides reasons to perform the action mentioned earlier but does not provide evidence to support the basis of these reasons. Here, the evidence needed related to the complaints, costs, popularity and preference is discussed.

The primary evidence needed is that the weather and local news is truely preferred by the audience when compared to the national news. The late-night news program has not been doing great but the audience's preference about the type of news they prefer has not been mentioned. A survey that shows the evidence that the people have stopped watching the late-night news program from this television station is because it has less local and weather news. Also the survey would provide more concrete evidence about the viewers' preference on the type of news, national or local, they prefer. evidence that show that the late-night new program is affected by the viewers' preference would strengthen the argument and its conclusion.

The second evidence needed is about the purpose of the complaints received from the viewers. The argument makes an arbituary connection between the complaints of the viewers about local and weather news and the quantity of the news presented. More evidence is needed to understand if the complaints are actually regarding the amount of local and weather data presented and not about the quality or style of the news that is being presented. if the evidence shows that the complaints are regarding the quality or style of the news presented than the argument is weakened and the conclusion to allocate more time to local and weather news will not stand strong.

The final evidence needed is about the amount of revenue decrease. The analysis about the amount of revenue decrease because of the low levels of local news and advertisement and how it affects the station, is important to take a decision for its improvement. if the revenues have been affected largely then the argument strengthens and conclusion will be good to apply. overall, much more basic as well as higher level evidence needs to be provided for the argument to stand strong and for the conclusion to be correct to implement.