Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim states that the individuals on high posts must step down after five years because reviving by new leader will lead to success of the enterprise. The claim includes any possible field with a hierachial system, which mainly any system in the present day. The idea is quite ideal however, it is as feasible as it seems. I disagree with this claim too a great extent because many other important ideas exist, apart from revitalization, that are important for the success of the enterprise.

Firstly, the systems where the higher position is acquired on the basis of capability and the individual's contribution to the enterprise, this claim would lead to unfairness. The individual on the high postion has worked hard and achieved that position and untill the person keeps the integruity and no other individual out-weighs their capability, it would be unfairness to the commend an individual to step down their position. This can be better explained for a hypothetical scenario that occurs in lives of many individuals. For instance, you join a company and work there for five long years and then you acquire the position of the Manager. Now, five years down the line, there has not been an employee that is capable to be a manager and the company has always been growing in your jurisdiction. Under the claim stated above, it would mean that you may now not have new effective ideas and must step down the position. This would certainly lead to a feeling of unfairness as well as if the new manager is not capable enough the company can certainly go into loss.

Secondly, democratic systems like the government, such a short tenure of high position can lead to electing an individual that is not suitable for the position. This means that if the enterprise does not have enough suitable people for the role or enough suitable people that will be honest, then the voters will be forced to choose between two bad choices and they will have to choose the less bad choice. This does not lead to a great result in every area. In South India, there was a state, that is divided into two now, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The differences between the community has existed since forever, yet they lived in harmony as one state. However, about a decade ago, a government was elected that let the public demonstrate their feeling in public settings and this meant there were riots, school shut downs, bombs and physical injuries. All of this resultede into the seperation of the two states. Even though, the stepping down of the government is sensible here, the forced-choice to choose between two bad choices has already done the damage, economically and psychologically.

Lastly, in cases of dictatorship or places where the ruling runs within the family, this claim an result would work very well. As no two individuals are the same, the change in the ruler will bring change to the community under it. However, for most cases if the individual is capable they would acquire the high position and hence enforcing this rule will not necessarily benefit the enterprise and will lead to unwanted damage.