"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The main focus of this passage is reducing the number of accidents because of huge flow of vehicles in summer season in Balmer Island. By following a strategy of Seaville Island, the possible solution is limiting the number of rentals of mopeds, considering by the town council. Mopeds are a popular form of transportation in Balmer Island. Is this really helpful for reducing accident?

First of all, during the summer season, almost 100,000 populations are increased. But there is no clear clarification about this abundant population in a particular season. It may cause for tourist or other occasions. In this time, with an increasing number of population, it must be demanded huge number of transportation for movement. So, reducing the vehicle is not a good solution.

Secondly, there is no nation where operate only one type of vehicle. If so, then this particular type of vehicle demand is too high. As well as town council must be provided this facility as much as needed. In Balmer Island, moped is a popular vehicle then it must be chosen by people most. So reducing moped is not a wise decision. It may hamper or lose the value of this Island. In case of reducing moped is demanded more vehicles for tourist movement. Lacking transportation can create bad impact on this place.

Last of all, town council almost sure that by following Seaville’s transport strategy may run well in his Island to solve the problem. But it is not considered that in what situation Seaville’s council took this decision. The scenario of two Islands may not be the same. There are huge possibilities of different number population, Tourism fact, vehicle’s popularity and many other factors in two Islands. Thus, if the Balmer town council wants to reduce accident level in summer season, he/she must conduct a proper study to find out the main reasons of accidents. It may cause for the- 1) lack of proper training of mopeds driver, 2) lack of proper facilities of pedestrians, 3)Lack of public awareness 4) lack of driving license 5) congestion of road and so on.

The author's conclusion is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further the author must provide better concrete reasons. It could be considerably strengthened if author mention all relevant facts. In order to assess the merit of several situations, it is essential to have good knowledge about the contributing factors. As a result, the author's conclusion has no legs to stands.