Bayside schools are doing a poor job because the test scores, graduation and college admission rates are low.

Let start from the very beginning, realize the premises and evaluate whether they are accurate or not.

The article says that Bayside schools are doing a poor job because the test scores, graduation and college admission rates are low. The writer acknowledges that these are not the unique indicators of the status of an educational system as he said, “number of other indicators”. Therefore, we can consider another indicators as well, and maybe the result of the evaluation would alter drastically if we did so. For example, what percent of students in the Bayside regions were successful in acquiring jobs, are they successful in their jobs from both aspects of financial facets such as income and of fulfilling the accumulating needs of the society. It is probable that if we consider criteria other than what the author used to support his argument, then the result would show that the Bayside school system even is doing a great job.

Let assume that the best indicators of the status of a school system are exactly those factors which have been mentioned by the author such as test scores, graduation and college admission rates. And all of them show a negative picture of the status. There is no necessary relationship between poor performance of students at exams and the novelty of facilities of the schools. That’s a sophistry, I think. Although I acknowledge that to rehabilitate schools and to renew and replace the old facilities can have a positive effect on the performance of students, but good facility is not a vital prerequisite to enhance students’ function. In other words, students may even do not perform better in regions they have modern, up-to-date facilities. Many reach regions suffer from similar issues with their students, though they spend a lot for their schools and build sumptuous buildings and buy brand new equipments for them. An enhanced academic performance is mainly a result of students motivations and thoughts about academic success. Do they really pay attention to lessons or not, and issues such as that. Therefore, by just investing more money to education it would not be the outcome to have better students’ scores at tests.