In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

People have different views about why a lot of humans across the globe remain hungry, although there have been a vast progress in agriculture. While experts may allude to many different justifications, I believe the original causes are population growth, unjust distribution and rising prices of food. Therefore, controlling population, devising development plans, and advancing technologies seem the most sensible solutions.

First, the countries are populated more today, in comparison to how much their population was in the past. For example, Iran has 80 million population today, whereas 100 years ago, this figure was about 10 million. As the population rises such huge amounts, the requirement for food will also be multiplied. Consecutively, all the modern agricultural achievements may not be sufficient to fulfill the desires of augmented populations.

Next, what we call agricultural advancements are note evenly distributed all over the world. As the modernity initiated from Western Europe, and Northern America, even today, continents like Africa, and regions like middle east, eastern Europe and south Asia do not enjoy the same level of scientific and technological progress. Besides, supposing some of these technologies be imported by these countries to redress the weakness of their nascent technology section, the money paid by the countries to import technology has been added to overall price, thereby depriving the pauper majority again from a reach source of food.

In order to address this crisis, a diverse set of policies must be strictly designed and abided by whether by these developing societies, or by the United Nations. The first thing is that population control actions should be taken over by governments. These plans will preclude the existing cultural motives that thrive increasing reproduction which by most was related to the eras that poor health conditions led to high death tolls. In addition, the United Nations relying on the aids of developed countries can design scientific and technological progression plans for new achievements more equal. At last, the universities and research centers should keep working on improving the current technics, to make agriculture even cheaper and more efficient.

In conclusion, although a lot of factors can be numbered why the agricultural advancements were abortive for mankind, I personally identify population growth, higher prices, and bad distribution as the main causes, and population control, development plans, and new research as the best solutions.