Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government

nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Benton city residents might have adopted a healthier lifestyle which might mean the obesity rate in the city will soon reduce below national average, but the author has provided evidences that requires proper scrutinizing to decide the soundness of the claim. This evaluation, however, birth some questions that demand answers to decide the argument’s soundness.

The first leap however, is the author’s assumption that the city’s obesity rate will reduce below average because the people are leading a healthier life. The author based this healthiness on the consumption of food. The residents might have engage in other activities such as regular exercise, change of diets and many more. Thus, to determine the argument’s validity, the author needs to ask if the residence engage in other activities apart from consumption of some meal. If it is proven that the resident partake in exercises, then the argument is unsound. But, on the other hand, if the residents’ increase in healthier lifestyle is as a result of the consumption of kiran meal, then the argument is sound.

Furthermore, on the basis that a survey was carried out, the author assumes the city population is the same as it was ten years ago, thereby supporting the increase in the sale of kiran. The population must have increased over the period of ten which must have led to the increase in the sale of kiran. The population will, of course, not reduce or remain the same for ten years. Thus, the author need to ask if the population of the city has increased in a large extent or at a lesser extent to determine if there is an actual increase in the sale of kiran. If it is seen that the city’s population has increased tremeduously, then the claim that the sales of kiran has increased fourfold is valid. if not, the claim is invalid.

Additionally, based on the less consumption of sulia that is rarely eaten by ‘healthier people’, the author assumed sulia is dangerous. The author failed to show the nutritional value of sulia. Also, the author failed to show any vivid correlation between the consumption of sulia and being healthy. Therefore, the author needs to ask for the nutritional value of sulia to decide if it is harmful for consumption. If it is shown that the consumption of sulia is dangerous, then, the author’s claim that healthiest resident do not eat sulia is valid. If not, the claim is invalid.

Finally, the author assumed only kiran reduces cholesterol and failed to consider other products that the residence must have consumed. Kiran is only one of several products in market that reduces cholesterol. The author basing his claim on only the consumption of kiran and not the consumption of products that reduces cholesterol generally is flawed. Thus, the author need to ask if the sale of other cholesterol-reducing products are on the increase. If this turns out positively, then the claim is sound, if not, the claim is unsound.

In conclusion, the residents of Benton’s cholesterol level might reduce below the national leve because of their new adoption of a healthier lifestyle, but the author’s bases of this healthier lifestyle requires answers to some questions to determine its validity. Thus, the author might want to consider other factors that has led to the increase in the healthy lifestyle of the residents apart from the consumption of sulia and kiran.