The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The argument that Movie Galore should reduce operating hours makes a number of unwarranted assumptions as regarding it assumption that the policy of reducing operaating hour will lead to increase in profit taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The biggest leap in the argument is the assumption that reducing Movies galore stores’ operating hours will improve profits. This is seriously flawed as no correlation was established between the stores’ operating hours and its revenue generation. The case might be that the more hours the store opens, the more profit the store makes. We need evidence showing the connection between the store’s operating hour and its revenue generation. Unless this evidence is provided, the argument remains flawed.

Another leap in the argument is the assumption that because Marston store received few complaints from customers regarding the policy of reduction of operating time, the the policy is effective. This is flawed because Martson might not have much customers to complain about its way of business. Martson store might be located in an environment in which the denizens are not that inclined to watching movies. Also, customers might have decided not to complain but to start patronizing other movies stores Martson’s store closes at the time they needed to rent movies. Thus, in order to determine the validity of this argumet, Movies Galore store must provide the evidence showing the amount of customers that complained, and comparing this to the total amount of customers. Also, it needs to show the amount of customers that patronize Martson’s store prior to the institution of the the policy and the amount of customers that patronize the store after the institution of the policy. If there is decrease in the number of customers that patronize Martson store, then, the plan to reduce operating hours is not feasible.

Finally, the argument assumes because reduction of operating hours work for Martson store, the policy is going to work for other stores. All movies galore’s stores are located in different locus. Also, different locations with different characteristics. Business might be booming in downtown but be looking bleary in other places. Thus, Movie Galore store needs to provide the evidence show the statistics of sales in all branches to determine if the policy will yield to increase in pofit or decline in profit.

However, the argument can be strengthened Movie Galore stores could show the effect of operating hours on business profit or loss. Movie Galore store also needs to show the evidence that Martson store’s adoption of the policy was effective. Finally, the Movie Galore store needs to show that what works for the downtown branch will work for all other branch.

In conclusion, the argument that Movie Galore’s reduction in operating hours will result to increase in profit margin makes numerous unwarranted assumptions that seriously undermines its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, Movie Galore store might be making a major mistake by reducing it operating hours.