Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complained indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change Furthermore many server

In the memorandum from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants it is concluded to apply cost-saving changes like using margarine instead of butter across the southeast and northeast branches of the restaurants to increase profitability. The author has come to this conclusion based on feedback and complains received from the customers. While the conclusion drawn might ultimately prove valid, the author must provide answer to three questions to strengthen the validity of the argument.

First of all, is the feedback mechanism reliable? In other words, are the means feedback is taken in the restaurant functional? It is possible that the feedback contains a long list of questions because of which only few people show willingness to fill it and hence only 2 percent of the customers have complained. Perhaps people are having complains regarding the substitute of butter but due to complex procedure to give feedback they tend to overlook it. If the above case is true it weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

Secondly, are the customers made aware about the usage of margarine in the Pancakes? There is a possibility that certain customers can be allergic to margarine and file charges against the Pancake House for not providing them with the contents of the pancakes. In such cases the Pancake house will need to keep stocks of butter for exceptional cases and hence replacing butter completely with margarine will not be a feasible solution to increase profits. If the above scenario holds merit, then the conclusion drawn does not hold water.

Lastly, are all the customers not able to distinguish the difference between butter and margarine? Perhaps the customers who didn't noticed any difference were new to the restaurant and hence they did not focus much on how the butter tasted. Maybe a regular customer of Happy pancake may notice the difference between the taste of pancakes made in butter to the pancakes made in margarine and it may happen that he or she may not like the pancakes made with margarine. If the above situation is true, then the conclusion drawn is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is rife with flaws. Although the author might have not evaluated the given situation regarding the usage of margarine in the Happy Pancake House restaurants in its entirety the conclusion and information associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been listed the argument as it stands cannot be said holistic. More evidence is needed (perhaps in the form of a detailed survey across all the branches of the Pancake house) to make the given argument stronger.