"The city council in Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes include hiring more police officers, budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than in their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer.

The author concludes that by increasing the visibility of the police force in areas where citizens reside will reduce the crime rate significantly is a logical assumption at first glance. However, the author relies on unsupported assumptions and also provides no clear evidence on how he plans to tackle each of them.

First of all, hiring more police officers does not necessarily mean crime rates will decrease. They might be able to cover more area without doubt, but seeing so many officers on the street can be more stressful and alarming for citizens rather than making them feel safe. With the Black Lives Movement, police officers have been under scrutiny by the public more than ever. Now instead of feeling pride at the amount of officers responded to a situation, citizens look at the perpetrator and his or her skin color instead. The author needs to break down what exactly would he do with more police officers on duty. This leads to questioning the assumption that visibility of the police force would decrease crime rate at all.

Secondly, the author assumes that budgeting to pay the police over time will inspire them to work longer and harder where instead might have the opposite affect on them. Being outside forty hours a week is no easy task, so asking officers to work overtime will not only cause lethargy, but also decrease their alertness on the job which is more dangerous than letting them take the break they deserve. Psychology Today reports that a work week of 30 to 40 hours is sufficient and anything more can cause more mental harm than do good.

Furthermore, I find it difficult to understand how seeing an officer in uniform would be much better than seeing the red and blue lights on a vehicle. Not only does this take away from the speed at which the police can catch criminals, but it also exposes them to more danger of being hurt by criminals or other moving vehicles. According to last years statistical report, 52% of walkers and bikers were killed by head on vehicle collisions. Taking away vehicles from officers is doing more harm than good.

In conclusion, the assumptions made by the author needs more evidence to back it up. If these changes were to be made, crime rates would increase rather than decrease and I am sure the citizens of the town would have something to say about that.