In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The sky is the limit. If you don’t aim to touch it, you will stay grounded and never know how reaching that high is like. That’s what it feels like when it comes to reading all sorts of reading materials such as poetry, novels, mythology, and literature. I strongly agree that college students should be required to take subjects that they might find “boring”. In the following paragraphs, I will list three reasons why taking different types of literature should be mandatory.

If we make it mandatory for students to take courses that focus on old and new literature, we are paving the way for them to reach for the sky because the possibilities are endless. Every day, we are learning something new from watching a television show, to listening to podcasts, to having our parents lecture us over something we did wrong. Our brain never stops processing information. Books, specifically, have been the oldest and the number one source of consuming knowledge for thousands of years. Some will argue that instead of being forced to take classes the students are not interested in; we are preventing them from taking classes they are more passionate about. I don’t necessarily agree with that argument because gaining knowledge will help them with their goals by introducing ideas and concepts foreign to them.

Furthermore, I can be certain that students will find something that fascinates them and we might have the next Hemingway. Being well-rounded is a goal a lot of people try to achieve, so making poetry classes mandatory, we can allow them to become not only well-rounded in literature, but also maybe find their passion in the process. Some may argue that taking classes that students are not interested in will only make them fail the class and hence, lower their chances of accomplishing their actual goal. Students will always come across topics they find unbearable and that’s how they learn what they like and dislike. They are still in the stages of learning about themselves and this would be another step in that process.

In conclusion, being well-rounded means that you have a better chance of being accepted into the program of your dreams. Poetry and art broaden your horizons and allows you to gain perspective on things you might never come across in everyday life. Taking classes like these should be mandatory because they can only help you and never hurt you.