The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The council of West Meria Public Health is concluding that eating Ichthaid, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil will prevent colds and hence, lower the absentees from schools and workplaces. They provide evidence such as a report from East Meria where consumption of fish is higher than the West and therefore, doctor visits are very few. The evidence the council provides is flawed and ineffective and requires the following evidence to validate it.

First, we need evidence that the people who eat fish are the ones that stay healthy. Maybe the people in the East are just stronger because they exercise more hence, they have a stronger immune system. Or maybe, they treat their colds at home and do not visit the doctor at all. Once the council provides evidence that doctor visits are mainly due to colds, their argument does not hold water.

Secondly, evidence is needed to support the claim that everyone who will eat the nutritional supplement, will not be allergic to it. Perhaps the people that allergic and do not eat fish in the East are staying healthy by eating more vitamins, minerals, and a balanced diet. Or perhaps, the people who do eat fish also eat a balanced meal and other nutrients that keeps them fit. If this evidence is provided, it will give more value to the argument the author is making.

Furthermore, the author is assuming that all the absentees from school and work are due to colds and evidence to counteract that is required. Maybe the students and workers who are absent are due to a family member who is sick and must be looked after. An excuse of absence could also be due to other health issues and not necessarily a cold. Providing these details will allow the author’s argument to be more valid.

The argument as it stands now is flawed. More evidence is required to appeal to the public and the facilities in charge of including Ichthaid in lunches at schools and workplaces. The evidence provided will help evaluate the argument more effectively.