The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and suppporting your position, you should consider ways in which the satement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position .

John F. Kennedy once said, "leadership and learning are indispensable to each other." They both go hand in hand. The prompt states that the challenges faced by a leader is what defines how great he or she is rather than the skills or abilities they possess. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement and argue that the skills and abilities that a leader possess is what defines how great they are rather than the difficulties they come across. The following three reasons will support my opinion.

When faced with a dilemma, we rely on our past experiences, skills, and abilities to overcome the issue. Thus, if we did not have those things to rely on, solving the problem effectively would not come so easy to us. For example, the great Quaid-e-Azam, a lawyer during the time the British ruled the Indian subcontinent, used his education as to divide the subcontinent into India and Pakistan to help his fellow Muslims. He witnessed the persecution his people faced due to religion and did everything in his power alleviate their misery. Now if Quaid-e-Azam had not had the skills that a lawyer possesses, he would not have been able to contribute to the issue and present day Pakistan would most likely, not exist.

Furthermore, a leader is considered great by how they handle the problem at hand and the effect it has on his or her people. Looking into this, if we look at President Donald Trump, he is not considered a great leader by several historians, critics, and political allies. When faced with the oncoming pandemic, he made no move to keep the illness at bay and chose to ignore the warnings instead. His lack of seriousness and urgency of the situation allowed the illness to spiral out of control, therefore causing several millions deaths in a short period of time. No matter how vast or minute the problem is, if the outcome is not favorable for the people being governed, no one will recognize the leader for the hard work or effort they put in.

However, people will argue that even if the leader does possess expertise and competence, we will not know unless there is a challenge to deal with. That statement is true to some extent, but competence and greatness is not only measured by challenges faced, but also several other factors such as the economy, international relations, and health care to name a few. Ex president Obama introduced Obama care to his people which gave lower class and underpaid citizens affordable health care. He improved the healthcare system even if it was by a small amount. He is remembered by the people who use Obama care on a regular basis. Skills and abilities in all honesty, are very important in deciding how a leader handles a situation, and therefore their greatness and how well they will be remembered.