Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress can be as big as creating a time machine or as little as making a decision to follow a healthy life style. Moving forward to bigger and better things is what society should be focused on rather than letting fear and comfort hold them back. In my opinion, everyone should strive for progress but stopping and taking a break to think about the unknown or spending some time in comfort is also okay. I statement will be supported by three of the following points.

First and the most importantly, a little bit of fear of the unknown is okay to push you forward to discover what may have not been discovered yet. Who would've though about twenty years ago that we would have phones that are absolutely flat and can also be used as a mini computer. Steve Jobs had the vision and he brought it to life when he introduced the first Apple iPhone. He states in his book that he did not let the fear of rejection stop him from pursuing his goal. Now, almost the entire world holds a computer in their hands thanks to him. Some will argue that fear is not something that is easily overcome. Yes that is true but instead of letting fear hold you back, let fear be the driving force. They had X-Factor for a reason. The whole show was about facing your fears.

Furthermore, if we only thought about aiming to be a great society, we would get obsessed with the idea and work our selves to death. For example, China is one the five world powers with high technological developments amongst other things. China is also known to work their employees to exhaustion to the point where they are falling asleep on the streets as mentioned in a news article back in 2018. The goal can easily become an obsession and not only harm us, but the people who work for us as well. People who support this point of view would argue that to gain progress, somethings have to be sacrificed. If you sacrificed your life and well being, the progress will not be worth it if you're not there to enjoy it.

Last but not the least, this statement holds some weight to it. If people sat around watching movies all day instead of starting the business they had dreamt of starting one day because they fear failure, they will never know what they were capable of. Jeff Bezos started Amazon in his apartment building and now it's a multi billion industry. If he let fear hold him back, we would not have online shopping as it is today.

Letting fear hold you back is not a good thing but letting yourself be comfortable in what you do is okay too. There isn't a simple answer to this statement. Work hard but also take a breather to make sure you are okay and the people around you are okay.