Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human hea

The passage claims that Kalinese artists have used moulds of actual bodies because remains of such moulds were found in the island and no sculpting tools and techniques were used. As a result, the miniature statues are different in style since life size moulds could not be used to create miniatures. In the end the passage concludes that life-size sculptures will loose their value while miniatures become more valuable.

First, the discovery of moulds of human head and hands on the island can mean that moulds were used in sculptures, however, there is no evidence provided that the sculptures were entirely made of clays formed by moulds. For example, It is possible that sculptures’ hands and heads were formed by moulds but the rest were formed by hand. Either the discovery of moulds created from other parts of body is required or more information on how other parts of human size sculptures were formed is needed to further strengthen the argument. To elucidate, if other parts are shaped by hand then their values may not deteriorate. Even if other parts are shaped by moulds it may still be of artistic interest and therefore valuable.

Second, it is mentioned by the passage that miniature statues’ were styled entirely differently this fact was used as an evidence to support the claim that no sculpting tools were utilised. To weaken the argument, one can say that since miniatures were created in another era than the life size statues and that is why their style is different. For example, Kalinese artists might have used very different methods, tools or artistic style many years ago and their tools and techniques could have evolved. Consequently, many year after creating miniatures they turned to creating life sized sculptures, therefore, the author could strengthen the argument by providing more information showing that the statues and miniatures come from the same era so that the comparison could sound more legit.

Finally, the article claims that life-size sculptures’ value will deteriorate as a result of these findings. This claim cannot be necessarily true maybe these finding make the statues more desirable to aesthetes since parts of human beings were used to create moulds that form clays, hence the sculptures resemble people from many years ago. As a result, historical significance of these sculptures may increase due to the fact that they look like ancient Kalinese, increasing their monetary value accordingly.

In conclusion, the author made claims based on finding on the island, however, much more information of sculptures’ historical context and production details are required to come the the conclusions that the author has made. Also, the author needs to be wary that sculptures should be looked at from various perspectives to better understand their value.