To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without

The argument concludes that students would less likely to cheat in academics when there is an honor code in place than without it. The evidences cited to support this argument are the veracity of students, information from previous years and statistical data. However, the premises are unable to justify or strengthen the weak conclusion. The main reasons why this argument is rendered inconclusive are fallacious assumptions, authenticity of the data and wrong analogy between the two systems.

Firstly, the author said that university should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in which children on their own consensus agree to not to cheat in exams. However, this a completely untrue statement that how can one be so sure that the children will not cheat infact when there will be no restriction they will cheat more. Also, it depends on the morality of the students whether they will cheat or not. Additionally, the author said that in this system the children will inform the teacher about the other students if they are cheating, this is true in case of upper cream students only but the lower grade students will never complain or inform about their classfellows. So, it is based on fallacious assumptions by the author hence this statement is untrue.

Secondly, the author has mentioned the data regarding the decrease in cases of cheating when there is no teacher to supervise them. Furthermore, when there is no teacher to monitor them it is also possible that the number of cheating cases are increasing but the students didn't bother to notify the teachers about it. Hence, the decrease in figures of cheating cases can be due to the corruptibility of the students.

Last but not the least, the author has mentioned the recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council which suggested that vast majority of students preferred to less likely to cheat in a honor code than without it. At first it seems true but after the meticulous analysis it can be concluded that this survey conducted by the council can be biased too because the members can make a bias decisions as in this case there is less burden on teachers, they won't have to keep a close eye on the students. Also, the student population and type of students taken in conducting this data are also not mentioned. It can also be conclude that in this survey only lower grade students have participated so they will gain a benefit in the academics as there will be no one who can monitor them as result they can freely cheat in academics.

Hence, at the end i would like to conclude that this argument is based on fallacious assumptions and in order to prove this argument right author have to provide more valid premises and authenticity of the data. So, more information is required otherwise this argument in inconclusive.