The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

A person without proper education cannot lead to a life where he would be respected and honored by others. Education is provided to all those who are willing to be successful in their life and think that being well educated would help them do so. To be well-educated one needs to follow all the rules and regulations while completing the course of education. All of the people try to put an excellent score on their mark sheet. But lots of them do this by cheating and carry out malpractices. To keep track of this, the college and universities should adopt some methods that are well proven so that students don’t cheat.

The author stated that the article has appeared in a student newspaper. There might be a possibility that the source of the article can be unauthorized or unreliable and can mislead the readers.

Even after adopting the honor code the students should follow it rigorously and they should be monitored whether they are doing so or not. Students should first follow the honor code and if they do, they should bring forward the one who is not following the said rules. And if this is not done then there is no use of adopting the honor code.

The old-fashioned system should be put under a check whether really there’s any problem with the method or there’s a problem the way in which it is implemented. As mentioned by the author, in the old-fashioned way the faculty members were asked to closely monitor the students. So, there can be a problem where the faculty member themselves help students to carry malpractices.

The statistics can be proven to be true for particular college only and might not work for all. Also, the class of students and their sincerity differ from college to college. Moreover, the author says “a majority of students said that they would less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.” Now here, a majority of students is a vague term used and depends on how many students were surveyed. Also, it depends on which kinds of students were surveyed. This part plays a crucial role in carrying out the changes as suggested by the author.

Thus, considering all the solutions and their outcomes each and every college/universities should adopt a way to stop malpractices carried out during examinations. The optimal solution should be chosen according to a particular university and considering the students, education environment, faculty members, etc. The basic step of maintaining a strict environment during the exams should be followed in any case.