The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College. "To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

The author is trying to convey the significance of adapting honor code in colleges and universities instead of using traditional methods of supervisions by teachers and professors in order to reduce the cheating during the exams.

According to editor of student newspaper of Groveton college, number of student cheating during exams has been reduced in college after adaptation of new method for avioiding cheating.

Editor of student newspaper is claiming that instead of of traditional method when student are called not to cheat for academic endeavors, they have reduced to cheat in exam and number of cases of cheating has been reduced.

In honor code method, students are suppose to notify the teacher about cheating that teacher supevising them during exam. Editor does not have mention anything about number of students who have notified professir about such incidences. It might be possible that most of the students do not pay attention what other students are doing during their exam, because of which they does come to know about cheating incidences happening during exam.It might be possible that student are not notifying professor even about seeing someone cheating because of several factors like friendship and may be ringing false alarms for personal conflicts. The toughness of the exam might have deduced within last few years for Groveton college and students do not need to cheat in exam to excek their academic performance.

Inspite of having so many assumptions which weaken the argument, their are certain actors which strenghen the argument. As honor codes are based on ethcal values, it right to assume that student who are following this rules are not lying. The number of cheating cases reducing after and after 5 year has given which provides evidences to support the editor's claim.

The results of survey conducted by the Groveton honor council should have been expressed in more elaborated way to support the claim in more strong way. How many more students are cheating less likely with an honor code in place of without, is it significant to consider it as majority should have metioned more good manner. It would have strenghen the claims of editor.